Reviews

To write a review or to view our full list, please see our NHS Choices Profile

updated at 03:01pm on 05/09/2018

by Anonymous

Under pressure? Yes, but what a service!

I just want to put on record my heartfelt appreciation for the Surgery’s response when I called on the morning of 24th July to ask for help in dealing with a difficulty with my speech earlier in the month and subsequent forgetfulness.

The duty Nurse Practitioner called back within 10 minutes, listened to my concerns and asked me to come to the Surgery at 11.am

At 11.am the on call Doctor gave me a thorough and skilful review and then arranged for an appointment for me to see a Stroke Consultant at SDH at 2.pm

The SDH Cardiac Investigation Unit picked up the baton and I was seen by the Stroke Consultant within 15 minutes of arrival. After review the Consultant suspected a TIA and then sent me, armed with a map of Level 3, to have a Brain Scan, a Neck Scan, an ECG & blood tests - and finally to the Pharmacy for new medication.

At 4.15 all was done and we went home for a cup of tea!

We are all fully aware of the enormous pressures, both in terms of funding and manpower, under which the NHS is having to work - and its all too easy to be grumpy; but when one is faced with a possibly serious situation and is helped in this quite amazing way, one realises what a special thing our NHS is and how lucky we are to have it and its dedicated teams of professionals supporting our wellbeing.

My experience just serves to illustrate what a truly wonderful Surgery we have in Fordingbridge and what a superb Hospital sits on our doorstep. My thanks to everyone who supported me.

Visited in July 2018, Posted on 31 July 2018

by Anonymous

reassuring friendly phlebotomist and painless!

I would like to share my experience although embarrassed of my scenario.
This morning i had an appointment to have a blood test. I have been anxious and hardly slept last night as the thought of having a blood test is a great fear for me.
I sat in nervously in the waiting room and was soon called in for my appointment.
On entering the room, i was greeted with a kind friendly smile as she introduced herself. She appeared to recognise my anxiety almost immediately, offered me a comfortable seat, checked my identity and then we discussed the tests listed on her computer screen.
Before we went any further, she asked me if i was happy to proceed and anything i feel she should be aware of before continuing. This gave me opportunity and confidence to confirm my worries. She recommended i should lay down on the couch incase i feel unwell and not to worry, as 'if' i become unwell, she can stop at any time and 'with a press of a button' help will arrive.
Step by step she talked me though the test ensuring me it can be stopped at any time whilst she kept my thoughts distracted with general conversation about my interests and her recent annual leave.
Next thing i knew, it was all over and she insisted i rested for a while before i sat up.
Once i was sure i felt ok, she explained to me where my blood is tested and how i can obtain my results, then suggested i could sit in the waiting room with a drink of water for a while to make sure i feel ok before leaving.
So reassuring and reduced my fear for another time.
There appears to be so many people who feel it necessary to highlight negative experiences within the wonderful local services who try to do their best to help us. I feel that if people are not happy with a service they are offered, they should approach the service provider directly for the situation to be addressed and learned from.
At the end of the day, we are all human beings, no service is perfect.
When i thanked the phlebotomist for her understanding and empathy, she stated 'it's not a problem at all, we are all here to help you'. Such a lovely kind lady and such a helpful surgery.
Thank you Fordingbridge surgery.

Visited in June 2018, Posted on 12 June 2018

by Virginia J Sheehy

Brilliant surgery, so lucky to have such a wonderful surgery

We ae so very lucky to have such a wonderful surgery at Fordingbridge. Everyone from my personal GP Doctor to nurses, phlebotomists, Practice Manager, dispensary dispensers, receptionists, anyone who is involved at this practice are such a wonderful team. Always smiling, remembering my name, always polite, helpful and above all knowledgeable and professional.


I have been visiting the practice for 11 years and in all that time I can only praise and give you all the highest accolades. I have never encountered any problems and receptionists are so accommodating if times and days are unsuitable for appointments.


You all deserve a medal for your outstanding professionalism, kindness and help.

I often mention to friends how wonderful my surgery is and all are amazed at the attention I receive and how quickly I can be seen if there is a problem. I recently experienced 2 stays in hospital and the attention I received with aftercare from the surgery was outstanding. The Practice Nurse phoned me three times to make sure all was well and when she noticed a problem immediately booked me in on an urgent appointment with my G.P.

We are indeed very lucky to have such an outstanding surgery in Fordingbridge.

My utmost thanks to all who are involved with my wellbeing.

Visited in May 2018, Posted on 27 May 2018

by Anonymous

Held to ransom

I felt moved to record my review on this site and having read some of the other reviews, I can see I am not alone in my opinion.
I received a call from the surgery and a text asking me to get in touch. Given I'd just had blood tests taken I nervously rang, went through the messaging on the answerphone which rang, and rang, and rang until finally informing I should call back later.
I called back later (15 mins) the above was repeated.
On the third call the was picked up. This person informed me that my follow up appointment booked some 2 weeks previous, was to be cancelled due to sickness. I did react with some surprise given the appointment was booked for 3 weeks later. I accepted the explanation and I was then offered another time that for my appointment. I explained I was unable to attend then as I had previous commitments. I was then told that as I had refused the first available appointment I had to call back 'in a few weeks' to reschedule.
I did respond by explaining that this seemed unfair given my appointment was cancelled and the 'refusing first available appointment' appeared to be some 'tick box' response to the surgery being shown they had offered an appointment, even though I was unable to make it.
I feel held to ransom by the surgery, being the only one in the area and would change if there was an alternative. There is one receptionist who is always lovely and helpful, the doctors in general, do their jobs in the limited time available to them, even though sometimes I've left the surgery feeling like a sheep herded into a pod, then another waiting room and always waiting half an hour additionally. Following this my visit face to face with a doctor is seldom more than 5 minutes.
Ticking boxes is obviously needed, but listening to people is vital. I read the surgery responses and I would say to the surgery that like me, being held captive by the surgery, I feel intimidated by behaviours and worry about complaining with my name. Why you may ask? Well if you are treated badly when you behave politely, how bad could it get if you are seen to complain. It's almost like bullying.
In addition the surgery say that they cannot investigated or deal with anonymous complaints or feedback. Hogwash. Training is indiscriminate. I know other staff have seen and heard bad service from customer facing staff and they do nothing. This makes them culpable by association. Or, is they are too frightened to confront the bullies themselves for fear of retribution?

Visited in January 2018, Posted on 12 April 2018