Reviews

To write a review or to view our full list, please see our NHS Choices Profile

updated at 10:13am on 13/06/2018

by Anonymous

reassuring friendly phlebotomist and painless!

I would like to share my experience although embarrassed of my scenario.
This morning i had an appointment to have a blood test. I have been anxious and hardly slept last night as the thought of having a blood test is a great fear for me.
I sat in nervously in the waiting room and was soon called in for my appointment.
On entering the room, i was greeted with a kind friendly smile as she introduced herself. She appeared to recognise my anxiety almost immediately, offered me a comfortable seat, checked my identity and then we discussed the tests listed on her computer screen.
Before we went any further, she asked me if i was happy to proceed and anything i feel she should be aware of before continuing. This gave me opportunity and confidence to confirm my worries. She recommended i should lay down on the couch incase i feel unwell and not to worry, as 'if' i become unwell, she can stop at any time and 'with a press of a button' help will arrive.
Step by step she talked me though the test ensuring me it can be stopped at any time whilst she kept my thoughts distracted with general conversation about my interests and her recent annual leave.
Next thing i knew, it was all over and she insisted i rested for a while before i sat up.
Once i was sure i felt ok, she explained to me where my blood is tested and how i can obtain my results, then suggested i could sit in the waiting room with a drink of water for a while to make sure i feel ok before leaving.
So reassuring and reduced my fear for another time.
There appears to be so many people who feel it necessary to highlight negative experiences within the wonderful local services who try to do their best to help us. I feel that if people are not happy with a service they are offered, they should approach the service provider directly for the situation to be addressed and learned from.
At the end of the day, we are all human beings, no service is perfect.
When i thanked the phlebotomist for her understanding and empathy, she stated 'it's not a problem at all, we are all here to help you'. Such a lovely kind lady and such a helpful surgery.
Thank you Fordingbridge surgery.

Visited in June 2018, Posted on 12 June 2018

by Virginia J Sheehy

Brilliant surgery, so lucky to have such a wonderful surgery

We ae so very lucky to have such a wonderful surgery at Fordingbridge. Everyone from my personal GP Doctor to nurses, phlebotomists, Practice Manager, dispensary dispensers, receptionists, anyone who is involved at this practice are such a wonderful team. Always smiling, remembering my name, always polite, helpful and above all knowledgeable and professional.


I have been visiting the practice for 11 years and in all that time I can only praise and give you all the highest accolades. I have never encountered any problems and receptionists are so accommodating if times and days are unsuitable for appointments.


You all deserve a medal for your outstanding professionalism, kindness and help.

I often mention to friends how wonderful my surgery is and all are amazed at the attention I receive and how quickly I can be seen if there is a problem. I recently experienced 2 stays in hospital and the attention I received with aftercare from the surgery was outstanding. The Practice Nurse phoned me three times to make sure all was well and when she noticed a problem immediately booked me in on an urgent appointment with my G.P.

We are indeed very lucky to have such an outstanding surgery in Fordingbridge.

My utmost thanks to all who are involved with my wellbeing.

Visited in May 2018, Posted on 27 May 2018

by Anonymous

Held to ransom

I felt moved to record my review on this site and having read some of the other reviews, I can see I am not alone in my opinion.
I received a call from the surgery and a text asking me to get in touch. Given I'd just had blood tests taken I nervously rang, went through the messaging on the answerphone which rang, and rang, and rang until finally informing I should call back later.
I called back later (15 mins) the above was repeated.
On the third call the was picked up. This person informed me that my follow up appointment booked some 2 weeks previous, was to be cancelled due to sickness. I did react with some surprise given the appointment was booked for 3 weeks later. I accepted the explanation and I was then offered another time that for my appointment. I explained I was unable to attend then as I had previous commitments. I was then told that as I had refused the first available appointment I had to call back 'in a few weeks' to reschedule.
I did respond by explaining that this seemed unfair given my appointment was cancelled and the 'refusing first available appointment' appeared to be some 'tick box' response to the surgery being shown they had offered an appointment, even though I was unable to make it.
I feel held to ransom by the surgery, being the only one in the area and would change if there was an alternative. There is one receptionist who is always lovely and helpful, the doctors in general, do their jobs in the limited time available to them, even though sometimes I've left the surgery feeling like a sheep herded into a pod, then another waiting room and always waiting half an hour additionally. Following this my visit face to face with a doctor is seldom more than 5 minutes.
Ticking boxes is obviously needed, but listening to people is vital. I read the surgery responses and I would say to the surgery that like me, being held captive by the surgery, I feel intimidated by behaviours and worry about complaining with my name. Why you may ask? Well if you are treated badly when you behave politely, how bad could it get if you are seen to complain. It's almost like bullying.
In addition the surgery say that they cannot investigated or deal with anonymous complaints or feedback. Hogwash. Training is indiscriminate. I know other staff have seen and heard bad service from customer facing staff and they do nothing. This makes them culpable by association. Or, is they are too frightened to confront the bullies themselves for fear of retribution?

Visited in January 2018, Posted on 12 April 2018

by Dissapointed

Rude and hostile receptionist

I went into the surgery today (but this is not the first time this has happened), I asked a question about my husbands prescription and the receptionist was rude and dismissive. I felt like a piece of dirt on the bottom of a shoe. Thankfully on this occasion there was nobody else around, as in the past I have seen this receptionist treat others in the same way with no concern that she is publically humiliating them.
I think urgent training in smiling and customer service is in order.
She gets ten out of ten for her sour faced expression and the 'I couldn't care less' attitude.
Poor service. They have signs saying 'please do not be rude to our staff', well it works both ways Fordingbridge Surgery.
If there was an alternative surgery I would definately use it.

Visited in April 2018, Posted on 11 April 2018

by Catherine

First appointment as only just moved here

I am very impressed with this surgery as I received a phone call asking me for a specific blood test that I needed and as I had only just moved here very impressed. The nurse who did my blood test was very friendly and I felt very comfortable and seeing her again soon .i also saw a doctor on Saturday morning due to my mum passing away and he was very reassuring and listened . My first impressions on this surgery are good and I feel happy to put my trust and health in their capable hands. Thankyou

Visited in March 2018, Posted on 31 March 2018

by Anonymous

Great doctors rude receptionists

Great service in that I was given an appointment within the hour of calling despite not being a registered patient, although had been previously which made it easer.
I arrived for my appointment with requested identification in hand where I was met by a very rude individual who didn’t want to listen to what I had to say, questioning how I got my appointment and flapping to the team in the back for more info. I then got called straight through to a very pleasant doctor who helped me with my questions and went back to the reception where I had to continue to fill out a form. I was trying to get the form back quietly but was bluntly told “the queue is here” with a glaring snotty look. Not what you need when you are struggling to speak due to illness.
A good surgery but would recommend rethinking the customer facing staff.

Visited in February 2018, Posted on 28 February 2018

by Nick Jones

A fantastic, friendly & responsive practice.

I have been a patient at Fordingbridge practice or over 20 years & thought it high time to publicly say "thank you".
Appointments are always available, whether it be a GP or practice nurse. I am always greeted with a friendly smile & given a relaxed & detailed diagnosis. Should a referral be required this is arranged seamlessly & quickly.
The pharmacy staff provide a fantastic service, nothing is too much trouble & again I am always greeted with a smile. They are supported by the excellent online ordering system which also allows the sending of messages to & from the practice.
There is also the "pod" where you can check your blood pressure & receive advice from an online system. This is extremely useful.
Finally, I want to say a heartfelt "thank you" to all of the staff at this wonderful GP practice. I doubt that there is a better practice in the whole country.

Visited in February 2018, Posted on 22 February 2018

by Paul Hadlow

Excellent service

Dear Sirs,

I am well aware of the pressures that the NHS is under, especially at this time of year, but may I say how impressed I was at being given an appointment and seen within hours of contacting the surgery? Excellent service.

Thank you.

Paul Hadlow

Visited in February 2018, Posted on 09 February 2018

by Anonymous gave Fordingbridge Surgery a rating of 5 stars

Same day service

I had the need to use the Same Day service yesterday for an attack of gout. The doctor was very prompt in sorting this problem with a prescription for the appropriate drug which rectified the problem overnight. So I would like to thank this doctor and the Same Day service for their help.

Visited in November 2017, Posted on 25 November 2017

by Anonymous gave Fordingbridge Surgery a rating of 5 stars

excellent service and treatment

every time I visit the doctors the staff are always willing to help if I have a problem. It's nice to be able to check in on the screen and take a seat without the need of speaking to the person on the desk. I used the health check pod in the main area before I went in to see the doctor and found it easy to use. Sadly I have had to visit quite a bit lately but I never feel I am a nuisance to anyone. Without exception all the doctors I have met have been welcoming and have helped me through my illness. Thank you.

Visited in October 2017, Posted on 18 October 2017